Snapper Rocks Boardriders Retain Original Source Boardriders Battle Title

Results are in for the 2015 Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle held at Cronulla Beach in Sydney over the weekend. Each state’s top teams including wild card teams made their way to Sydney to take each other on in what is the largest surf teams event in the world and is the country’s biggest grassroots, boardriders event series with $120,000 in prize money. It involved Australia’s best boardriders clubs in eight State qualifying rounds starting last October and culminating in this weekend’s, two-day National Final. (SEE ALSO DAY 1 WRAP UP)

Conditions cleaned up for the final day with a 2-3 foot swell with barely any wind, although the energy dropped off leaving the sets to be a lot weaker giving there surfers a good challenge just to make some of the waves.

With the girls round over on day 1 it was up to the girls representing their clubs. Each of the girls only surfed one wave per heat as per the format of the competition, then returned to the beach to allow the next team member to enter the water to take their turn.

Coffs Harbour Boardriders Boardriders Battle teams challenge winners  Photo: WSL/Will H-S

Coffs Harbour Boardriders Boardriders Battle teams challenge winners Photo: WSL/Will H-S

Coffs Harbour Boardrider’s club worked hard to win the teams event to slide Snapper into 2nd place but their overall points combining the individual round were enough to put them over the line and made them the winners for the 2nd year in a row.

In the finals of the teams event it was 1st place to Coffs Harbour with 36.8, 2nd to Snapper Rocks 31.17, 3rd to Point Lookout 28.86 and 4th Bondi 21.1  that took to the water in the 60 minute heat. Each team had to consist of 5 surfers including 1 female and 1 under 18 surfer. A power surfer was nominated to pick up an extra wave and give the team extra points.

There were a lot of girls in the event representing their clubs who didn’t have high profiles but surfed at such a high level mixing it up with some of the top ranked surfers in the country. 7 x World Champion and previous Queenscliff Boardrider’s competitor Layne Beachley presented Stacey Holt (Point Lookout Boardriders) with the Layne Beachley Medal and $1000 for best performing female after a dynamic performance in her individual heat and teams event. Stacey said “It’s so humbling to get this award from someone I’ve looked up to all my life… I love this event because it gives all clubs and ordinary surfers the chance to be in the water and mix it up with some of the world’s best, it’s a great feeling.”

Stacey Holt, Point Lookout wins Layne Beachley Medal Photo:  ASP/Robertson

Stacey Holt, Point Lookout wins Layne Beachley Medal Photo: ASP/Robertson

Bondi Boardriders won the Fox Sports Patriot Award and $5000 for the club that demonstrated the most passionate spirit during the National Final after bringing a robust support crew to Cronulla complete with three-piece band.

Snapper Rocks and Coffs Harbour also won $1000 and $500 of FCS product for finishing first and second. The Snapper Rocks team consisted of: Joel Parkinson, Mitch Crews, Mitch Parkinson, Reef Doig, Holly-Daze Coffey Sheldon Simkus, Quinn Bruce, Jay Phillips, Wayne Bartholomew (coach) and Lorraine Bryant (coach).

What a great final! Well done to everyone.


  1. Snapper Rocks Boardriders 5525
  2. Coffs Harbour Boardriders 4800
  3. Culburra Boardriders 4262
  4. North Narrabeen 4250
  5. Avoca Boardriders 4174
  6. Merewether Surfboard Club 4062
  7. Point Lookout Boardriders 4050
  8. Bondi Boardriders 3862
  9. Byron Boardriders 3851
  10. Le Ba Boardriders 3850
  11. Scarborough Boardriders 3762
  12. Margaret River Boardriders 3750
  13. Kirra Surfriders 3674
  14. South Coast Boardriders 3550
  15. Cronulla Sharks Boardriders 3362
  16. Philip Island Boardriders 3162
  17. Peninsula Surfriders 3063
  18. Burleigh Boardriders 3062
  19. Coolum Boardriders 2750
  20. South Arm Boardriders 2550

For full results head to

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle is proudly supported by naming rights partner Original Source and major support partners in Toyota, Nikon, Oakley, Boost Mobile, Sutherland Shire Council, Milwaukee, FCS, Surfing Life, and Fox Sports. The series is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League, which allows Australian WSL World Tour surfers (men and women) the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective State qualifying events and the National Final.

In total $120,000 is up for grabs across the entire National Series including the National Final. There is $33,000 available across the eight State qualifying events, while $87,000 will be on offer at the National Final. The winning boardriders club will receive $20,000, while $42,000 will be split between the clubs finishing second to 20th.

Post a Comment