New Zealand’s South Island Surfing Championship Results 2015

6th March 2015

(Top photo Jessica Terrill courtesy of Surfing NZ / Mark Stevenson)

Southland’s Jessica Terrill has claimed the Women’s Title of the South Island Surfing Championships at St Clair Beach, in chilly Dunedin yesterday.

Jessica dominated her final held in clean 1.0m waves with clean surface conditions. As the lone Southland surfer in the final, Jessica got off to a flyer accumulating a 13.50 point heat total after her first two waves.  The lead became insurmountable for her opponents who were left fighting for the minor placings.

Dunedin surfer Tash Mattingly held on for a runner up finish ahead of Shani Ayson (Dun) in second and early event stand out and defending champion Hayley Coakes (Dun) in fourth. The final title of the day went to 15 year old Shani Ayson (Dun) winning the Under 20 Girls Division.

The South Island Champs is dual sanctioned as the second event of the New Zealand Pro Series and the South Island Circuit.  The event comprises ten divisions including the Open Men’s and Women’s as well as Longboard and Under 20 Girls.

The South Island Champs has received great support to get the 2015 edition up and running.  Event partners include: Corona, Quarry Beach, Boardbase, The Southern Trust, Matunas, Mason, FCS, Aloe Up, Hydro Surf, Esplanade Surf School, Star Fish and Auto Court.

The event is proudly hosted by the South Coast Boardriders Association.

South Island Surfing Championship Results 2015

Under 20’s Results

1st – Shani Ayson(6.27)
2nd – Tegan Bishop (6.17)
3rd – Firth D (5.83)
4th – Tallulah H (3.77)

Under 18’s Results

1st – Jessica Terril (13.5)
2nd – Task Mattingly (9.27)
3rd – Shani Ayson (6.93)
4th – Hayley Coakes (6.0)

Shani Ayson by Mark Stevenson

Shani Ayson by Mark Stevenson


Post a Comment