International Surfing Association World Bodyboard Championship Results

(Top Photo Teresa Almeida by ISA /Rommel Gonzales)

Iquique, Chile, was the destination of the ISA World Bodyboard Championships this week. Portugal’s Teresa Almeida (12.83) has won the Open Women’s division against Anne Cecile Lacoste (8.10), Neymara Carvalho (8.66) and Yuleiner Gonzalez (6.97).

Peru’s Carolina Botteri (13.20) took home the gold in the Junior Girls U18 division against Anais Veliz (12.37), Madalena Guerra (9.94) and Yumi Vasconcellos (9.20)

Teresa Almeida/ Photo by ISA Rommel_Gonzales

Teresa Almeida/ Photo by ISA Rommel_Gonzales

Carolina said “I’m very happy and excited! Thanks to all my team, my coach and my team manager for their support. This is a dream come true. I have trained a lot and here’s the result.”

Carolina Botteri / Photo by ISA Rommel_Gonzales

Carolina Botteri / Photo by ISA Rommel_Gonzales

“Congratulations to all of the individual winners of the 2014 ISA World Championship,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “I am especially proud of the host country, Chile, who won its first ever ISA Gold Medal. This historic accomplishment of our Chilean friends, shows the ability of new surfing nations to raise to the top of the world, as part of the ISA’s mission of developing surfing globally. Chile is a country with some of the best waves in the world and this achievement is a direct result of the efforts made by the Chilean Surfing Federation in its path to develop surfing in their country.”


*The girls footage starts at 1:31 

About the International Surfing Association:
The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 91 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected eight times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Karín Sierralta (PER), Layne Beachley (AUS), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL).

More on

Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 9.36.41 pm

Post a Comment