D’Bah Boardriders Win Girls Australian SurfTag Ending North Narrabeen’s Winning Streak

28th March 2015

(Top photo victorious D’Bah Boardriders Girls Team – Photo by Throwing Buckets)

In some 2 -3 Foot Offshore conditions at the famous North Narrabeen beach in Sydney for the 2015 Isuzu D-MAX Surftag Women’s Australian Championships. The girls were firing on all cylinders with their teams of 5 and smashing the left-handers on offer. The North Narrabeen Club were after their 6th Australian Title and weren’t going to back down easily with a strong field of talented and experienced surfers!

Congratulations D’bah Boardriders winning the 2015 event and snatching that winning streak away from the NN girls. Little legend Alyssa Lock ripped her way through the North Narrabeen southerly and scored the highest score in the final with a total of 29.63 points. D’bah put up a fantastic effort to defeat locals North Narrabeen Boardriders who finished in 2nd place, North Shelly in 3rd and Queenscliff in 4th.

Alyssa said after her teams massive win “You don’t get many opportunities to be an all girls team so when it’s there you can’t help but froth at the chance… conditions were a little tricky to read  and there was a sweep to the south which made getting to the main peak difficult. The vibe on the beach was super tense and the final was so close, things could change at any time because every team was capable of getting the score and there were so many talented girls surfing. Our team put in such a massive effort and we are all really happy to take the trophy home!”

The Surftag format involves teams of five surfers (one x over thirty year old per team) competing in relay-style. Each surfer must catch three waves and then return to the beach to ‘tag’ their teammate. But any winning team knows the key to trumping their opposition is to solidify on the second wave that scores double points, known as the ‘Powerwave’. Securing a big score on a Powerwave has seen teams jump from fourth position into first, meaning no heat is ever over until the final hooter. Bonus points are awarded to teams who finish within the sixty-minute time frame and the top two highest scoring teams from each heat progress to the next round.

Isuzu D-MAX and Swellnet proudly support the 2015 Isuzu D-MAX Surftag Australian Championships.


1st – D’bah Boardriders (Brodie Doyle, Alyssa Lock, Audrey Stymen-Lane, Grace Stymen-Lane, Anniya Doyle)

2nd – North Narrabeen Boardriders (Tessa De Josselin, Elle Black, Shelley Carrier, Jess Van Der Meer, Belinda Hardwick)

3rd – North Shelly (Jess Grimwood, Corina McGuire, Zoe Field, Terrene Black, Lading Smith)

4th – Queenscliff (Alysse Cooper, Chloe McGheachie, Nath Toga, Kate Reed, Sammy Walker)

Post a Comment