2015 NZ Billabong Grom Series presented by Oceanbridge Event 2 Results

15th February 2015

(Britt Kindred photo by Surfing NZ / Jackson Bright)

After the big swell of day one at Whangamata, (South East of Aukland on the North Island of New Zealand) day two was a more manageable 1.0m swell with light winds all day.  Conditions were average throughout the day until the tie filled in enough for the full tide banks to work.

Kai Woolfe (Gis) had a comprehensive finals performance.  Woolfe posted a 13.2 point heat total for the win to beat out Grace Pevats (Whangarei) in second, Toni Power (Mnt) in third and Georgia Wederall (Mnt) in fourth.

Kai Woolfe  photo by Surfing NZ / Jackson Bright

Kai Woolfe photo by Surfing NZ / Jackson Bright

National Women’s Champion Gabriella Sansom (Albany) took a comfortable win in the Under 20 Girls Division.  Sansom reversed roles with Raiha Ensor (Mnt), Ensor finishing fourth today after winning the first event of the series.  The two surfers now share the ratings lead going into the final event at Piha.  Placing second in the final today was Piha surfer Claudia Fraser ahead of Bianca Sansom in third.

Elin Tawharu (Mnt) claimed her first event of the summer in the Under 17 Girls Division.  In a low scoring and tight final, Tawharu managed to make the most of the small lefthand reforms to post a 10.1 point heat total.  Muriwai surfer Milly Crewe surfed her way to second place, her best ever result at a national event after choosing to surf further up the beach than her opponents.  Crewe finished ahead of Britt Kindred in third and Kea Smith (Mnt) in fourth.

Under 20 Girls Final

  1. Gabriella Sansom (Auck), 11.9
  2. Claudia Fraser (Auck), 8.57
  3. Raiha Ensor (Mnt), 7.07
  4. Bianca Sansom (Auck), 4.23

Under 17 Girls Final

  1. Elin Tawharu (Mnt), 10.1
  2. Milly Crewe (Muri), 9.0
  3. Britt Kindred (Muri), 7.07
  4. Kea Smith (Arataki), 4.23

Under 14 Girls Final

  1. Kai Woolf (Gis), 13.2
  2. Grace Pevats (Whngrei), 2.8
  3. Toni Power (Mnt), 2.73
  4. Georgia Wederell (Mnt), 1.73

The third event of the Billabong Grom Series will be held at Auckland’s Piha Beach (28 Feb – 1 March) where the series winners will be announced.

The three event series is part of the New Zealand Grom Series which comprises of up to seven events for some divisions and features the country’s top junior surfers.

Words provided by Surfing New Zealand Photos by Jackson Bright

Raiha Ensor photo by Surfing NZ / Jackson Bright

Raiha Ensor photo by Surfing NZ / Jackson Bright

Post a Comment