2015 Australian Bodyboard Titles Results

2015 Australian Bodyboard Titles Results

(TOP – Australian Open Women’s Champion Shauna Gillett photo: Surfing Australia)


17th August 2015 – As the 2015 Australian Surfing Festival wraps up the bodyboarding divisions dive into their finals. with the ladies finding some crisp wave faces throughout their heats and finals to impress the judges and bodyboard community.

In two-to-three foot waves at Diggers Beach in Coffs Harbour, the women’s divisions were run over 2 days with 2 finals heats. The total score from both heats culminated to the final point score and the new champions.

The Gillett girls were set to dominate the event from the get-go with both Sam and Shauna as defending champions of their Open and Junior divisions.

In the Juniors it was twins Sam and Teigan who took a win each but Teigan’s higher scores pushed her to the top and she was crowned the new Junior title holder.

Teigan Gillett wins the 2015 Junior Women's title. Photo Surfing Australia

Teigan Gillett wins the 2015 Junior Women’s title. Photo Surfing Australia

Teigan said after her win. “The second day of the finals saw us girls surfing last heat of the day just after it hit dead low tide. There was a little bit of a rip bowl coming through once or twice. The waves were a little inconsistent but still provided plenty of fun and was still a decent size at times. It feels unreal and so amazing to win my first title it was again a close call between myself and sister Sam but this year I managed to come out on top!”

In the Opens it was power-house mum of twins, Shauna who battled her way past France Hazar, who in the 2nd heat dominated the field with two 5 point rides but she Shauna found a 6 in each of the heats to surpass her and take another title for 2015.

Great turn out by the girls and great to see some amazing waves being surfed!


Open Women

1 – Shauna Gillett (Martinsville, NSW)

2 – France Hazar (Avalon, NSW)

3 – Britt-Marie Ladley (Mermaid Waters, Qld)

4 –Sally Wells (Nunawading, vic)


Junior Women

1 – Teigan Gillett (Martinsville, NSW)

2 – Sam Gillett (Martinsville, NSW)

3 –Sophie Leathers (Dorrigo, NSW)

4 –Zoe Curling (Tweed Heads, NSW)



Post a Comment